CITYWIDE


Barbara Lubliner and “Upcycled”
December 23, 2010, 1:01 am
Filed under: Art, Exhibition | Tags:

East Otisserie, plastic bags, 5' x 20' by Ilene Sunshine

New York City artist Barbara Lubliner came into the studio last week to talk about the exhibition she curated at the Ernest Rubenstein Gallery at the Educational Alliance on the Lower East Side, “Upcycled,” which opened on December 8th and runs until January 20th. All the drawings, sculptures and installations in the show are made from plastic post-consumer waste by Olivia Kaufman-RoviraBernard KlevickasShari MendelsonJanet NolanIlene SunshineTyrome Tripoli and Barbara Lubliner herself. As much a commentary on our daily consumer habits, the exhibit opens up a whole new level of the creative play possible with the materials we have most handy.

A few educational programs will also take place in parallel to the exhibit after the New Year, including an artist talk on January 12th and two hands-on workshops on January 2nd so anyone can learn what it means to “upcycle” and make art of what is trash in any other circumstance.

For more information about “Upcycled” and the programs that accompany it, you can visit the Educational Alliance’s website here or take a stroll to the Ernest Rubenstein Gallery at 197 East Broadway, New York, NY.

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

[…] My first Citywide show aired on Wednesday night on WNYU! I have so far gotten pretty sweet feedback on it; I’m pretty happy. I talked to Barbara Lubliner, a New York based artist and the curator of “Upcycled,” an exhibit at the Ernest Rubenstein Gallery at the Educational Alliance on the Lower East Side, up until January 20th. The exhibit features works made from plastic post consumer waste by various artists, including Mrs. Lubliner herself. Getting my first show on air for Citywide was a long process, which involved a lot of rescheduling of my mock show and many technical issues before I was even approved to host, but I’m very happy it all worked itself out and couldn’t be happier with the way this first show turned out. Although next time, I’ll spread out the editing process, because I cannot spend another entire day listening to myself over and over again. Peruse the Citywide blog to see the little bio I wrote about myself in the Us! page as well as actually hear my interview! […]

Pingback by Goodnight, Travel Well | My Secret Activity

I’m so excited to see this show. I love the idea of using found and discarded objects to make new, vital works of art.

Comment by Robin Locke Monda

It really is a fun and thought-provoking idea and the art that comes out of the process is very varied. I hope you enjoy the show and thanks for listening! -Sedera

Comment by citywidewnyu

[…] chuckled and told me, “You really like interviewing people called Barbara,” alluding to my very first guest on the show, visual artist Barbara Lubliner. And although I don’t discriminate in my choice of guests by name, her comment stuck with me […]

Pingback by Vicky Shick and Barbara Kilpatrick for “Not Entirely Herself” « CITYWIDE

[…] these interviews in full, you can click here, here, here and here! But, we have many many more shows for you to listen to if you search around […]

Pingback by The Year 2011 in review by Sedera « CITYWIDE




Leave a Reply

