CITYWIDE


An Introduction to Fluxus At NYU’s Grey Art Gallery
October 12, 2011, 11:59 pm
Filed under: Art, New York City | Tags:

I’m ashamed to say it but before preparing for this interview, I had never set foot in the Grey Art Gallery. After three years at NYU and countless classes taken at the Silver Center, I still hadn’t visited the campus gallery.

As embarrassing as that is, I am happy to report that this first visit was extremely informative. Of course, that then makes me wonder about all the knowledge I missed out on from my years of not going there, but that’s a different story. Visiting Fluxus and the Essential Questions of Life and Fluxus at NYU: Before and Beyond, which was curated by my guests NYU professor Julia Robinson and CAS ’11 alum Ellen Swieskowski, made me discover a sort of missing link in my knowledge of art history: Fluxus.

Of course, I’m not an expert in 20th century art in any respect, but walking around the gallery and seeing echoes of concepts of modern art brought up regularly such as the blurring of life and art and the breaking down of the boundaries between artist/performer and spectator made me wonder: How have I not heard of this before? Where can I learn more?

Julia Robinson and Ellen Swieskowski answered those questions in the interview so I won’t spoil it, but I’ve always loved the idea of art as play so learning about Fluxus was particularly fun for me. Hopefully it will be for you too.

“Fluxus and the Essential Questions of Life” and “Fluxus at NYU: Before and Beyond,” will be up at NYU’s Grey Art Gallery until December 3rd at 100 Washington Square East in the Silver Center. For more info about the exhibits, visit www.nyu.edu/greyart.

Sedera Ranaivoarinosy

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

