CITYWIDE


UnionDocs, Part 1/2: What’s the deal with documentary art?
January 19, 2012, 12:59 am
Filed under: Film, New York City, Projects | Tags:

It’s fair to say that I like my work at Citywide to make connections and parallels to my own personal projects; in a way, I figure, if this is helpful and interesting to me, there must also be a link to be made by the listeners as well. I’ve been paying more attention to documentary films and the techniques they use in the last few months because I am working on my own documentary project about student debt so once I stumbled on the UnionDocs website, Christopher Allen, Steve Holmgren and Andre Almeida seemed like the perfect people for me to go to for a good interview about a genre that’s undergoing a huge transition/transformation right now and maybe at the same time a little guidance for places I should look to in order for my own project to be the best it can be.

The result: I have the equivalent of two interviews and the definite confirmation that I don’t need to (and really shouldn’t) feel restrained by the facts in my project and have plenty of room to be creative with my storytelling, even if my thesis is being completed for my journalism degree. Overall, scheduling these shows was a successful decision.

For more information on UnionDocs, visit their website, www.uniondocs.org, to read more about all the events you can attend. The next screening happening at UnionDocs will be in honor of the release of a book by editors Devin and Marsha Orgeron and Dan Streible, Learning with the Lights Off: Educational Film in the United States. By video conference, they will introduce a sampling of 16mm prints from the golden age of educational filmmaking. Dan Streible will be in attendance for discussion. This is all taking place this Saturday, January 21st, at 7:30 pm.

Christopher, Steve and Andre will continue guiding us through the work that goes into compelling documentary art during next week’s show so tune back in next Wednesday at 7:30 pm.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

